WLGF creates positive measurable change. In the spirit of ‘Power, Together’ WLGF launches its Community of Action

Power, Together Awards


The power to advance society – to change and move things in a positive way – comes from using our power together. This is especially true when change is needed to increase the number and power of women leaders. Together, women can make the changes necessary; together women can create societies of better diversity; together women can make sure the future holds as many opportunities for girls and women as for boys and men.

The POWER, TOGETHER AWARDS honour outstanding global initiatives that inspire people to Power, Together to create positive change in society.

The 2021 Power, Together Awards were awarded to the World Economic Forum’s community of Young Global Leaders®, the Global Goals World Cup, and Fora during the Reykjavik Global Forum. The Power, Together Awards recognise the outstanding achievements of organisations that advance an agenda of more representative leadership worldwide.

“The theme of this year’s Reykjavik Global Forum is Power, Together for Progress. The 2021 Power, Together Awards recipients are at the forefront of powering progress for more women in leadership around the world.” says Silvana Koch-Mehrin, President & Founder of Women Political Leaders. “Working together, the Reykjavik Global Forum community strives to change perceptions, challenge tomorrow, and advance society. This is why we celebrate the successes of the 2021 Power, Together Award winners.”

The Forum of Young Global Leaders is aligned with the mission of the World Economic Forum, and seeks to drive public-private cooperation in the global public interest. Their diverse community of leaders across borders and across sectors has more than 1,400 members and alumni of 120 nationalities, including civic and business innovators, entrepreneurs, technology pioneers, educators, activists, artists, journalists, and more. Mariah Levin, Head of the Forum of Young Global Leaders, will accept the award.

“We are honoured to accept the Power Together Award. Inclusion is at the core of our mission – the Forum of Young Global Leaders was established to broaden traditional views on leadership and introduce new role models into public imagination,” Levin said. “We are motivated by the data that diversity strengthens outcomes in the public interest and are proud to have advanced opportunities for women leaders across sectors and countries. We also recognize the global gains made to diversify leadership fall short of our collective ambitions, and will continue to set new standards for responsible and inclusive leadership by supporting and profiling exceptional women role models.”

The Global Goals World Cup is an organization that activates the groundbreaking potential of sports and play with purpose. Since 2016, the Finals have been played in New York City, but this year were moved to Iceland during the Reykjavík Global Forum. Each team in the tournament champions one of the Global Goals, and the winner has the opportunity to showcase their work on advancing global progress amplified across the world stage. Co-Founder and CEO Majken Gilmartin will accept the award on behalf of the organization, alongside more than 50 players and partners who will be in attendance at the ceremony.

Fora, launched more than a decade ago as G(irls)20, is dedicated to women’s leadership development, putting young women at the centre of decision-making processes. The organization makes strategic investments in young women through education and training, building networks, and access to unparalleled opportunities at home and abroad.  “Winning the Power, Together award is an incredible honour for Fora. Fora works with a global community of emerging young women leaders pushing for gender equality from community tables to the halls of government. WPL is comprised of many powerful and impactful leaders and this award reinforces the importance of building bridges between generations of women leaders in power.” says Heather Barnabe, CEO who will accept the award.