Power, together for progress

9-10 November 2021

Join the conversation in-person

Address: Austurbakki 2, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

Attracting hundreds of Conversationists each year, the Forum offers a unique lens into the best practices and proven solutions that leaders are deploying across sectors and geographies to further advance society. We work with some of the most influential leaders and innovative problem solvers in the world. Join us in Reykjavík, Iceland.

When in Reykjavík…

Map of Reykjavík

Know your way around like a local

Hotels in Reykjavík

Where we recommend staying

Looking for ideas of where to stay?

Click Here

Visiting Reykjavík

Experience the city

Looking for things to do?

Click Here

Dining in Reykjavík

Where we recommend eating

No idea where to eat?

Click Here

It is with great pleasure that the Reykjavík Global Forum – Women Leaders and the Icelandic Ministry for Foreign Affairs invite you to partake in a Reykjavík Conversation.

In this new era of convening for the Reykjavík Global Forum, the Ministry for Foreign Affairs is opening the doors of Icelandic embassies around the world and inviting women leaders to join ambassadors in a conversation on how leaders can build a more equitable and sustainable future in alignment with the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals.

Key commitments of the Reykjavík Global Forum have always been to harness the collective power of women leaders and to create practical tools, accessible to all leaders striving to improve society. To continue to deliver on this promise, we will be gathering the ideas that are shared during the Reykjavík Conversations and using them to inform one of the prized products of the Reykjavík Global Forum: The Reykjavík Manual. The Manual is a practical guide that draws together the insights, best practices and solutions offered by women leaders worldwide.

These are small roundtable conversations held under Chatham House Rules that will last approximately ninety minutes. For their participation in these Conversations that help shape and expand The Reykjavík Manual, attendees will be listed in the Manual as co-authors. Furthermore, in recognition of the contributions of Reykjavík Conversation participants to the Reykjavík Global Forum, attendees receive the title of Conversationist at the Forum.

This year Reykjavík Conversations 2021 are hosted by ambassadors in the following locations:

Beijing. November 25 / 4:00 pm
New York. December 2 / 1:30 pm
Ottawa. December 7 / 10:00 am
Tokyo. December 9 / 9:30 am

Please note that all times are local. Additional locations may be confirmed at a later date.

Due to health and safety precautions and considerations of space, we can offer participation only to a limited number of Conversationists.

Registration is required, and formal invitations with further information and logistics will follow.

If you are interested in the Reykjavík Conversation, you can contact us any time at mail@womenleaders.global.

The Forum 2021 is a multi-location convening of around 500 people gathering in Iceland, in person Global Forum Satellites in other parts of the world, complemented by a digital gathering. The Reykjavík Global Forum provides a much needed sense of community each year and there is a strong demand from Conversationists of the past years that this sense of community needs to be replicated globally at this important time.

This year, simultaneous Global Forum Satellites – Women Leaders across the globe provide for leaders not traveling to Reykjavík the opportunity to be part of the Conversations and the possibility to use their Power, Together for Progress – which is the motto of the Reykjavík Global Forum 2021.

Featured Conversationists

The Reykjavík Global Forum is the platform where women leaders discuss and share ideas and solutions. To achieve that, it needs everyone participating and to enter the conversation. At the Forum, one is not an attendee, but an invited leader; someone who can hear what is being said, can add value to and share the passion for the conversation: a Conversationist. The Forum looks forward to welcoming leading Conversationists at this years’ Forum. The conversation starts here.
Featured Conversationists ■ ■ ■

… The Forum is the platform where leaders discuss and share ideas and solutions. To achieve that, everyone needs to participate and enter the conversation …

Featured Conversationists

Shiva Dustdar

Head, Division Innovation Finance Advisory, European Investment Bank

Susana Malcorra

Minister of Foreign Affairs and Worship (2015-2017), Argentina and Member and Co-Founder, GWL Voices

Lina Lopes

Member of Parliament and WPL Country Ambassador, Assembleia da República

Dirk Luyten

Founder, INSEAD Gender Research Fund and a Member, Exco, Global Women in Business Club

Maleeka Bokhari

Member, National Assembly and Parliamentary Secretary for Law and Justice of National Assembly, Pakistan

Arancha González Laya

Minister, Foreign Affairs (2020-2021), Assistant Secretary-General, UN (2013-2021), Member, GWL Voices

Nivruti Rai

Country Head, Intel India and Vice President, Intel Foundry Services, Intel Corporation

Lopa Banerjee

Executive Coordinator, Generation Equality and Director, Civil Society Division, UN Women

Roopa Dhatt

Co-Founder and Executive Director, Women in Global Health


Afke Schaart

Senior Vice President and Head of Global Impact, Huawei

Agnes Zani

Member of the Senate, Senate of the Parliament, Kenya

Agostina Pechi

Managing Director, Goldman Sachs and Co. and Head of EM, Latin America

Alenka Jeraj

Member of Parliament, National Assembly, Republic of Slovenia

Apply for your invitation!